forumnanax.blogg.se

Baten kaitos mira
Baten kaitos mira






baten kaitos mira

Monolith's fascination with relationship charts is also present here.Maybe it’s because the game put Chrono games on the brain, it made me think of Gran and Leon, the Japanese names of Masa and Mune.

BATEN KAITOS MIRA FULL

Going full Tower of Druaga wasn't even the strangest thing somehow. Every time I thought I got a handle on its graphical gimmicks, it pulled out a new one. Savyna straight up Falcon Punched a toddler, what the hell.I'm also noticing middle eastern influences in the game’s design and naming, which is also pretty unique for video games. Its aesthetic of clouds and stars gives the whole thing a dream-like aesthetic.While I ended up being right about that, the game went the extra mile by layering another twist on top of that, making it feel more satisfying.

baten kaitos mira

At one point I thought I had the game figured out, when a character got introduced whose voice acting I recognised from previous, villain-foreshadowing scenes. They work well enough within the story the game is telling. A couple were ripped straight out of Final Fantasy X, like Gibari. In spite of that though, the characters seem decent enough. Most characters sound like they’re doing a primary school play, and others sound so utterly disingenuous that they come off as complete assholes. Almost all of the characters in this game are phoning it in and the audio quality even sounds like it could have been recorded over the phone. Aside from the card battles, this was the one other thing I knew about the game. Then on to the big one… the voice acting. The main menu itself is a bizarre tree-menu, where turning options on and off have their own section in the tree. In spite of many sorting options for my cards, can never seem to find a sorting method I like, and the one I start with always seems to be the least useful one. Speaking of menus, I don’t know who designed these menus, but 30+ hours in, and they still trip me up regularly. At this point, I wish there was more to do in that church to justify itself as a physical location you can walk in, or just turn it into a simpler menu. The idea is cute, but after 10 hours, you’ll start noticing that it’s kind of slow, and cumbersome. These save points warp you to an ethereal church dimension, where you can talk to someone, who’ll let you choose how many levels you can “buy”. While you accumulate EXP normally like in other games, you can basically only cash in on that EXP at special save points. Something I'm less sold on, is the way it handles levelling. You frequently find new cards too, and it’s worth changing up your deck. None of that button mashing your way through combat here. All of this works for both attacking and defending phases, which basically keeps you involved throughout every single battle. The game’s got a bunch of timers, buffs and debuffs, elemental weaknesses and strengths, different types of combos, and contrasting elements that cancel each other out. Luckily enough they were smart about this. Stuff that might not be able to engage me for a full game. At first it seemed like it was simplistic, slow, and overly random. Baten Kaitos’ most prominent feature is its card-based battle system. Let’s just start with the mechanics first. It’s not just the art direction and pre-rendered backgrounds, but also how it re-invents the JRPG wheel in similar ways for better or worse. A lot of the game reminds me of Chrono Cross. While I kind of get it, I'm getting a lot out of the game thus far. I was a little hesitant to start, as some friends of mine had warned me that they absolutely hated it. I started Baten Kaitos over the holiday break, and while I'm not done yet, I'm really into it.








Baten kaitos mira